cricketer bravo - fan9

Dwayne Bravo becomes the IPL’s all-time leading wicket-taker (171 wickets).

Bravo has always had a hunger to nab more records for his name, and now he broke Sri Lankan Yorker King, Lasith Malinga’s record of being the highest wicket-taker in the IPL. Bravo bagged his 171st wicket in the CSK vs LSG match on Thursday. His 171st wicket was Deepak Hooda. He began his IPL career as a replacement for the injured Malinga in the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008 for the Mumbai Indians. Bravo played for the Mumbai Indians till 2010, when he was bought by the CSK in the next year’s auction.

From 153 IPL matches, the West Indian cricketer had registered 171 wickets, crossing Malinga’s record of 170 wickets. Earlier, in the season opener, Bravo picked 3 wickets in the match against KKR, levelled with Malinga. Bravo and Malinga are the top two wicket-takers in the IPL’s all-time history, followed by Amit Mishra (166), Piyush Chawla (157), and Harbhajan Singh (151).

Bravo also holds the record for the most wickets in T20 cricket. Bravo has captured 575 wickets in 524 matches since 2006. CSK regained Bravo in this season’s mega auction with 4.40 cr. He has brought a Caribbean swagger to the IPL and bats like a typical West Indian, with shots all around the wicket.

Previous articleIPL 2022 Round-up after the first set of matches
A Conversationalist Cinephile Cricket Enthusiast, yep that's me. Iam Thejus and Iam ABC - Addicted to Bollywood and Cricket. Catch me on Instagram : me_theju


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here